Formatting Question

So now you have an outline. Where do you go from here? Discuss getting past FADE IN:.
auggybendoggy
Writer

Formatting Question

Postby auggybendoggy » Feb 15, 2010 7:51 am

I hope I'm posting in the correct forum. I'm brand new to screenwriting and have a formatting question. My opening scene is a series of sketches which are narrated; using V.O. Currently I'm using a header which looks like:

SKETCH - COMETS JOURNEY - SPACE

The rings of saturn strectch accross the heavens as the COMET breaks past us, screaming as it travels through deep space.

(V.O.)
Earth's last few moments, determined by a rock, having no
intentions, no mission...but one. Destroy Earth.

I realize it's usually (int or ext) followed by (location) followed by (day/night). Thus I don't believe I'm even writing it incorrectly and I can't seem to find any tutorials which explain how this would be done. My goal is to have a storybook type of beginning. Disney's Beauty and the Beast would be close to what I'm trying to achieve.

I'm hoping someone might help me.

Auggybendoggy

Chris Huntley
Site Admin

Re: Formatting Question

Postby Chris Huntley » Feb 18, 2010 12:18 pm

My initial thought is that using "SKETCH" in the scene heading does not mean anything in particular. Is it important to the story that it is shown as a sketch? If it isn't, it is best NOT to describe it - - leave it up to the filmmakers to figure out how they want to realize your imagery.

The most important thing is clarity. If you want to do a fairy tale book, you need to describe it as a book before you describe its contents:

INT. STORYBOOK ROOM

The book, "XXX" sits atop a table. The book opens by itself and we see drawings on the pages.

PAGE ONE

The rings of Saturn stretch across the heavens as a COMET speeds toward us .

NARRATOR (V.O)
               Earth's last few moments, determined by a rock, having no
               intentions, no mission...but one. Destroy Earth.

----