First Person?

Read or revive posts that have been copied over from the old message board.
Chris Huntley
Site Admin

First Person?

Postby Chris Huntley » May 30, 2008 9:59 am

PeterJames -- First Person?

Hi,

I am a newbie and a newbie writer. I downloaded the demo of Dramatica and I think it can help me. But I have some dumb questions:

I am trying to write a semi-fictional account of something that happened to some friends of mine and weave it into a story that I think will be interesting. However, I can't seem to find out where to place myself as the narrator/character in Dramatica. Am I the Main Character? I think so - as far as the program is concerned - but it doesn't seem to give me a choice for Protagonist. In fact, there is no listing I can find for developing the 'protagonist' character at all, if I am to be the Main Character.

I have a small part to play in the events, so it is important that I write this in the first person (though I know many people say I am not supposed to write a story this way) as kind of like a 'witness to the events'. However, the actual main character is really the leader of those in the group I am writing about, and very important in the events. I am sort of incidental, as it were, yet I need to write it from my perspective.

So this is where I am stuck and can't figure out how to proceed from here. The story is kind of like a 'FGT at the Whistle Stop Cafe' type yarn, so the view point and first person perspective/comment from my character is very important.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Peter

Unregistered(d) The 3rd Person #1