Hi! Please like me!

Come here to talk about any old thing. If it doesn't relate to writing, sit back, put your feet up, order a virtual pint! If you are new to our forums, come here to introduce yourself and learn a little about the rest of us as well.
AlabasterCole
Writer

Hi! Please like me!

Postby AlabasterCole » Oct 26, 2010 1:20 pm

I'm an aspiring writer who's been published only as a reviewer in music tabloids and that big 'American Poetry' book where you pay to get your Poem published in it. I was a Technical Writer for years, which might explain a lot. I also RULE a few online Forums, already, so I have no real designs on ruling this one, per se . . .

I've had a very unique life, kind of like the guy on 'Into the Wild' (without the starving to death part,) and five years ago I decided becoming a Screenwriter was the best way to share some of the stories I've be in or near.

At that time, I didn't even know the word 'structure' as it pertained to storytelling. So, I went on a quest to understand story structure. Lew Hunter turned me on to Egri, Aristotle, Joseph Campbell and The Brothers Grimm. I suffered small setbacks in the form of Twain and Poe. I copied down John Truby's 22 Steps. Shakespeare made me dizzy. And then I found Dramatica.

I'm a Dramatica Fanatic, now, and believe the authors should be awarded a Nobel Prize. I don't blow smoke - I just think it's THAT great. Armando Saldana-Mora is also a Saint, in my opinion.

So, armed with all this stuff, I proceded to make the most complicated Dramatica model I could possibly construct (wherein every character is complex, part 'dark' and part 'light,' and every sequence runs counterintuitively backwards,) and I've been losing sleep trying to figure out the story it's telling, by degrees for a couple years. When it's done, it will be brilliant, but it just might take me until I'm eighty.