The 2020 BlueCat Screenplay Competition: CALL FOR ENTRIES

Writing for the big screen has its own unique challenges. Discuss character, theme, plot and theory issues in this forum.
Published Writer
Posts: 46
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 1:18 pm

The 2020 BlueCat Screenplay Competition: CALL FOR ENTRIES

Postby bluecat1 » May 20, 2019 10:10 am

The BlueCat Screenplay Competition, now in its 22nd year, is open for submissions for its 2020 competition. BlueCat remains committed to the undiscovered writer and continues its tradition of providing written analysis on every script submitted.

BlueCat accepts features, shorts, and pilots and awards over $40,000 in cash prizes each year, including the Fellini Award, which gives $2,500 to the best script written by an international writer.

Early Deadline: June 30th, 2019

For complete information and submission details, please visit:

About BlueCat Screenplay Competition

Founded in 1998 by WGA writer Gordy Hoffman, the BlueCat Screenplay Competition continues its mission of developing the undiscovered writer. BlueCat’s winners and finalists have gone on to sign with agencies including ICM, CAA, and WME, with their work sold to several major studios such as Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., and Universal. BlueCat writers have won awards at Sundance, Berlin, and Tribeca all following their recognition with BlueCat.

BlueCat Alumni

Ana Lily Amirpour (2007 Winner, CAA), writer and director of A GIRL WALKS HOME ALONE AT NIGHT, is slated to direct the remake of CLIFFHANGER produced by Neal Moritz and starring Jason Momoa.

Kimi Lee (2015 Winner) is a staff writer at Amazon Studios for THE EXPATRIATES, produced by Nicole Kidman.

Aaron Guzikowski (2005 Finalist), writer of PRISONERS and the remake of PAPILLON, is currently working on Ridley Scott’s TV series RAISED BY WOLVES.

Fergal Rock (2011 Fellini Award) recently saw his BlueCat winning script DEPARTURES produced, starring Nina Dobrev and Maisie Williams.

Ashleigh Powell (2012 Finalist), wrote Disney’s THE NUTCRACKER AND THE FOUR REALMS, starring Keira Knightley.

Young Il Kim (2006 Winner), recent staff writer on BILLIONS, is writing the adapted screenplay THE RISE OF THEODORE ROOSEVELT, directed by Alex Timbers (MOZART IN THE JUNGLE).

Kateland Brown (2014 Finalist) wrote for Warner Bros. FAMOUS IN LOVE, starring Bella Thorne.

Savion Einstein (2014 Joplin Award), recently had her script SUPERFECUNDATION picked up by Sony’s Screen Gems.

Grand Prize Winner $10,000.
Feature Screenplay Winner $5,000. Four Feature Finalists will receive $1,000 each.
Pilot Winner $5,000. Four Pilot Finalists will receive $1,000 each.
Short Script Winner $5,000. Four Shorts Finalists will receive $1,000 each.
The Fellini Award (Best International Screenplay) Winner $2,500.
Title Contest, Three Winners $250 each.

Early Deadline: June 30th, 2019. Feature Screenplay $50, Pilot $45, Short Script $35.
Regular Deadline: September 15th, 2019. Feature Screenplay $60, Pilot $55, Short Script $45.
Final Deadline: November 11th, 2019. Feature Screenplay $70, Pilot $65, Short Script $55.
Late Deadline: December 15th, 2019. Feature Screenplay $80, Pilot $75, Short Script $65.
Final Resubmission Deadline: February 17th, 2020. Feature Screenplay $50, Pilot $45, Short Script $35.

Website: Facebook:
Twitter: Instagram:

Return to “Screenwriting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest